Enkidu – Russian River Meets Ampuis

So I found myself at the conclusion of a highly satisfying wine tasting last week, the final wine at which was a staggering St.-Joseph from the estate of Cuilleron in the Northern Rhone. The guests at my event and I had thoroughly enjoyed ourselves during our intimate gathering together at Bistro des Amis and I had excused myself to assist a new client with a wine purchase. Inviting my guests to finish off any wines remaining in the half-full bottles while I was other-wise occupied resulted – quite naturally – in the IMMEDIATE draining of the juice left in the Cuilleron bottle. “What ever am I to drink as I pull orders and do paper-work tonight”, I happily thought upon my return.

Then I remembered the wine I had recently ear-marked for this week’s Wine-of-the-Week!

I gathered up my things, headed back to the wine shop and immediately plunged my trusty wine key into another bottle of this staggering (or at the very least stunning) bottle of Russian River Valley Syrah. YES, it absolutely holds its ground after drinking a $90 bottle of 95 point rated Northern Rhone Syrah! Doubt me? Don’t buy it, please! Leave it for me – this is my latest daily drinker. I’ve already drank 3 bottles and it’s only been here a week.

OK, so perhaps you’d like a bit of background…

The “old fella” behind the project known as Enkidu is Philip Staehle. I affectionately refer to him as I do because he’s been around this business longer than I have. In fact, he’s made Sonoma his professional hang-out since I was just a lad in this business. So deeply rooted in the vineyards of the Russian River is ol’ Staehle that it’s no wonder that another “old man” of the business, Parker, immediately announced to the world that the wines of Enkidu are not to be missed:

Robert Parker reviewed Enkidu’s wines in 2007 and 2008. He was extremely complimentary both years:

“This impressive new producer has turned out some attractive reds that merit serious attention.”­

Robert Parker, Wine Advocate (Aug 2007)

“These wines continue to impress me as elegant examples of Rhone Ranger blends.” ­

Robert Parker, Wine Advocate (Aug 2008)

And so it is with great pleasure that I offer to you (before I drink it all) my allocation of the great Enkidu 2005:

2005 Enkidu Syrah Odyssey Vineyard Russian River Valley
Enkidu Wine
Syrah Dry Red Table Wine
Russian River Valley, Sonoma, North Coast, California, USA

Review by Cepage Noir
E*Newsletter Winter 2008
Rating: 92
“An Outstanding wine worth your serious attention that will impress and offer memorable drinking experiences.”
Drink: 2008 – 2018

“An absolutely opaque, black, ruby purple robe sets the taster up for one of the most memorable and deeply complex Syrahs of the entire vintage, certainly of the Russian River appellation. Mirroring the aromatics of Northern Rhone super Syrahs from Cote Rotie, this 2005 Odyssey offers nuances of roasted meats, captivating charcoal / graphite, black berry pie, toasted bread / pain grille’ and buckets of decadent fruits allied to deeply complex French Oak. The flavors are captivating to echo the aromas and caress the palate to include the deep black berry and smoky French Oak flavors. Tasted after a near-triple digit Northern Rhone, this was that wine’s equal. Stunning, just stunning.”
– Cepage Noir

for details regarding availability and pricing, contact me at the shop…

All the best in wine and life,

Christopher Massie
Diplome D’Honneur de Sommelier
713-524-9144
2439 Times BLVD
Houston, TX 77005